Block Party

I was a little embarrassed to have been caught. At the auto mechanics, in the customer waiting area, inches from the television, staring at CMT.

“You can turn it up if you need to,” said the young mechanic as he walked through.

“Umm… no… that’s okay. I was just trying to see if someone I knew was in the video,” I stammered.

He looked at me with a yeah-right smile, shrugged, and went his way. I decided to look up the video on YouTube when I got home.

Now, Alison Krauss has a beautiful voice, and I love the song she was singing, but, yesterday, at the car shop, I didn’t really care about Alison Krauss. I wanted to see if Ron Block was in the video.

Ok, so I’m a little late to the Block party. Before I went to my first Hutchmoot, I had no clue who Ron Block was. Now that I’ve heard him speak, and sing, and play, well, I would put myself in the fan category. He’s part of Union Station, and a singer-songwriter in his own right. In fact, his CD “Walking Song” was my favorite CD of 2013.

I really wanted to see if he was in this video so I pulled it up on YouTube and watched it, stopping it multiple times, asking Laurel (because she was in the room), “Do you think that’s him?”

I never was quite sure. It’s 20 years later, he’s not wearing a hat, and I have trouble recognizing faces anyway.

My mind is showing its age.

I’ve hit a major roadblock in memorizing, too. For whatever reason, I just don’t seem to be able to cram any more verses in.

So I picked up a little art journal the other day and decided to attempt a new tactic. I started drawing pictures to go with the verses.  Trust me, I am no artist.

But I figured that no one is going to see them.

Except me.

And now you.

Because I’m going to be brave and show you the picture I drew yesterday morning, hours before my is-Ron-Block-in-the-video moment.DSC01239The drawing, I know, is faint. I have no boldness when it comes to sketching.

My writing is messy, so I’ll decipher it. “What distinguished him? Nothing that was visible to the human eye. Nothing. Nothing. Nothing. It was all something beyond our grasp, beyond our eyes, beyond our perception. What else am I missing?…”

I look for God all the time. And yet, I know that I miss Him in so many ways.

It hit me that the reason I couldn’t pick Ron Block out of the music video is that I don’t know him well enough.

You see where I’m going with this.

The reason I may miss out on God’s presence in my day-to-day is that I may not know Him well enough.

You’re probably wondering what the song was.  Alison Krauss – “When You Say Nothing At All” – it’s a beautiful song. And the words of the first verse fit right in here:

It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart
Without saying a word you can light up the dark
Try as I may I could never explain
What I hear when you don’t say a thing

Picture singing that to God.

Lord, let me be more perceptive of all the ways You are present and speaking today.

Leave a Reply

