Raising Cane

My father was scolded the other day for raising cane.

Betcha thought I spelled that wrong, but I didn’t.  I know the difference between “raising cane” and “raising Cain.”

Honestly, I can’t picture my father raising Cain.  From The Free Dictionary, to “raise Cain” means:

to make a lot of trouble; to raise hell. (a Biblical reference, from Genesis 4.)

I have a hard time imagining that my father ever raised Cain.  He’s about as stand-up a guy as you can find.  From The Urban Dictionary, “stand-up guy” means:

Mafia term: A good solid man business man. not one to bullsh**, can be trusted. Will do anything needed for his family.

No, my father didn’t raise Cain because he’s a stand-up guy.

He did, however, raise his cane and was duly scolded for it.  Here’s what happened.

My father and I went to an art gallery last week.  When we first walked in, I felt like I was entering with a rock star.  The security guard on duty made such a fuss over my father, was so sincerely happy to see him there, went so out of his way to treat him with dignity and respect, that it warmed my heart.  He had been my father’s barber at one point and just loved my dad.  He came over to me while I was looking at the paintings and whispered, “I didn’t want to say this in front of your dad, but he was always one of my favorites.”  He didn’t have to say it;  his actions showed it.

A little later, as we made our way through the gallery, my father and I were discussing one of the paintings.  He raised his cane maybe six inches off the floor, gesturing towards another painting we had seen.  There had been a literal changing of the guard while we walked the gallery.  Seconds after he raised his cane in that benign gesture, a baby-faced guard was there to scold.

“Sir,” he said sternly. “I need you to keep your cane on the ground at all times.  Please do not wave it around the gallery. You could damage a painting.”

I looked at him, dumbfounded. Are you kidding me? I thought.

My father, ever the stand-up guy,  apologized and promised not to do it again.

However, I was tempted to raise Cain over the whole thing.

2 thoughts on “Raising Cane

  1. Let me guess….Cooperstown. Fenimore? Scold away-the guard had no respect for you two as guests! I would not blame you one bit- your father is a gentleman of the highest caliber. And, btw, if you are around this weekend in Coop, so am I. Coming out Sunday morning……

    • I think it had less to do with the museum itself and more to do with the baby-faced guard who was a little intoxicated by his uniform and “power”.

      Enjoy your time in Cooperstown. I’m not sure we’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

