Prayer for Pastors

Psalm 86, Deuteronomy 9, Hebrews 12

My heart has been heavy for our church and I have been praying for our pastors.

I can’t tell you how thankful I am for having a prayer book!  The words in these prayers guide my own words and prayers as I lift up different things before the Lord.

Here are the words of the prayer for pastors (with some minor adjustments) —

Almighty and everlasting God,
from whom cometh every good and perfect gift; 
Send down upon our pastors
[I mention each by name here],
and the other people who minister in our church
[I mention the other ministry leaders as they come to mind],
and upon the congregation of …
[I insert the name of our church]
committed to their charge,
the healthful Spirit of thy grace;
and, that they may truly please thee,
pour upon them the continual dew of thy blessing. 
Grant this, O Lord,
for the honour of our Advocate and Mediator, Jesus Christ. 
Amen.

Leave a Reply

