Trust in the Lord

Psalms 25 and 27, Deuteronomy 7:6 – 8:20, Hebrews 11:32 – 12:2

Is it a coincidence that the first Psalm I looked up this morning began with these words:

Unto thee, O Lord, I lift up my soul!  O my God, I trust in thee…

I have been struggling for days now with a survey that was given me.  One of the questions was worded as a yes/no/not sure question.  “Our church trusts and respects our pastors and our staff.”

The church’s name is Berean Bible Church.  The Bereans in the Bible “examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.”  (Acts 17:11)  Does that mean that they didn’t trust Paul?  Does that mean that they didn’t respect Paul?  No, I think it means that they were not afraid to question the things that Paul said, because, ultimately, their faith and trust was not in Paul but in the Lord.

So why ask this question?  It feels as though they want me on-board with something that they want to do;  they want me to trust them.  I respect them, but I give blind trust to no one.  O my God, I trust in thee!

Every scripture I read this morning was pointing toward a trust in God and a waiting on God.

Psalm 25: 5, 21

5Lead me in your truth and teach me,
for you are the God of my salvation;
for you I wait all the day long.

21May integrity and uprightness preserve me,
for I wait for you.

Psalm 27: 8, 14

8You have said, “Seek my face.”My heart says to you,
“Your face, LORD, do I seek.”

14 Wait for the LORD;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the LORD!

Deuteronomy 8 is Moses reminding the people of all that God brought them through, because once they go into this prosperous land, it would be easy to forget the One who brought them there. (Deut. 8:11-14, 17)

11“Take care lest you forget the LORD your God by not keeping his commandments and his rules and his statutes, which I command you today, 12 lest, when you have eaten and are full and have built good houses and live in them, 13and when your herds and flocks multiply and your silver and gold is multiplied and all that you have is multiplied, 14 then your heart be lifted up, and you forget the LORD your God…

17Beware lest you say in your heart, ‘My power and the might of my hand have gotten me this wealth.’

My fear is that as the church trusts in a consultant and studies and known fund-raising tactics, we are putting our faith in those rather than God.  I think it was George Mueller who let his requests only be known unto God.  He never made pleas for financial support and he never went into debt.  God honored his ministry because he honored God.

And then, I’m still reading through Hebrews (for the second time), I settled on Hebrews 12:2 —

2looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

My eyes are on Jesus, and there I want them to stay.

Don’t show me studies of church growth.  Don’t show me statistics about how money is effectively raised.  Show me Jesus.

Do I respect and trust the pastors and staff of our church?  I respect them as fellow Christians.  I trust Jesus.

Leave a Reply

