Being Carried

Psalm 28, Deuteronomy 1:9-33, Hebrews 10:1-18

Two word pictures stuck with me from the first two readings.  First in Psalm 28:9, it says,

Oh, save your people and bless your heritage!
Be their shepherd and carry them forever.

And then in Deuteronomy 1:30-31

30The LORD your God who goes before you will himself fight for you, just as he did for you in Egypt before your eyes, 31and in the wilderness, where you have seen how the LORD your God carried you, as a man carries his son, all the way that you went until you came to this place.’

While reading in Psalm 28, I thought of a picture from my grandmother of Jesus the Good Shepherd.  He has a lamb slung over his shoulders — and I prayed, “Oh, Lord, carry me!”  For I am weary.

Then, when I read in Deuteronomy about a father carrying his son, it was almost as if God was reminding me that our relationship is even closer and dearer than the shepherd analogy.  He loves me as a father loves a child, and He picks me up with the same tenderness as a father carrying their child.

Thank you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

