Preparations

Psalms 13 and 14, Deuteronomy 1:1-8, Hebrews 9: 11-28

It was a little hard this morning to decide where to go now that Isaiah is done.  I was tempted to go back and read it again.  I was tempted to go on to Jeremiah, my favorite Old Testament book, probably even my favorite book of the Bible.  In Hebrews, though, the writer is explaining about Christ being the high priest and the sacrifice and the heavenly tabernacle and all so I thought I should go back to the Pentateuch.

Once there, I still wasn’t sure where to go so I started at the beginning of Deuteronomy, the 2nd telling of the law.  It’s been a long time since I’ve read in the Pentateuch and I’m hoping there’s enough re-telling that it will refresh my memory.  If not, I may go back and start with Exodus.

God keeps reminding me that this is all one story.  All one story.  So, one can’t read Hebrews without understanding the tabernacle.  And one can’t truly understand Christ’s sacrifice without understanding the law laid out by Moses.

So when in Hebrews 9 it says,

24For Christ has entered, not into holy places made with hands, which are copies of the true things, but into heaven itself, now to appear in the presence of God on our behalf.

I understand that all those centuries of ritual were to prepare the way for the ultimate sacrifice.  Just as those who are trained to recognize counterfeit money are trained by studying the real thing for months or years on end, so we were being prepared for the real sacrifice by going through the ritual for years on end.

And I love this passage —

But as it is, he has appeared once for all at the end of the ages to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself. 27And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment, 28so Christ, having been offered once to bear the sins of many, will appear a second time, not to deal with sin but to save those who are eagerly waiting for him.

Now we are in a preparation time again for His second coming.  I wonder if we’re doing adequate preparations.

Leave a Reply

