New Covenant

Psalm 7, Isaiah 66:1-6, Hebrews 8

I’m growing a little sad to see that I’m coming to the end of Isaiah.  What to do when I finish?  Read it again?  I’m doing that with Hebrews.  Or move on to Jeremiah?  Or move on to something else?  Oh, Lord, guide me!

Hebrews is so rich.  I can’t believe I haven’t spent much time here before.  I love the beautiful picture the writer is painting of this New Covenant.

Hebrews 8: 6 says,

But as it is, Christ has obtained a ministry that is as much more excellent than the old as the covenant he mediates is better, since it is enacted on better promises.

Sometimes we wonder why we have to go through difficult times, but I think those harder times enable us to truly appreciate the good times.  If life was always easy, always a breeze, we would take everything for granted and never acknowledge the One who makes it so.

The same is true of our New Covenant.  The Old Covenant, the one with sacrifices offered by the high priest to atone for our sins, has been replaced by a New Covenant, a better covenant, an excellent covenant, enacted on better promises.  If this had been the first covenant, would we have appreciated Christ’s sacrifice?

The first covenant showed us that we can’t do it.  We need a savior.

I love the verses the writer of Hebrews quotes from Jeremiah.

Jeremiah 31:31-34 says,

“Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, 32not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the LORD. 33 But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.34And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

Beautiful words.  Beautiful Savior.  Beautiful covenant.

Leave a Reply

