Fog

On these summer mornings when I watch the sun rise, sometimes it is through the grey mist of a fog.  As the sun comes up, it burns off the fog so that I can clearly see the sky, the trees, the distance behind our house.

I’m still wrestling with Hebrews 4.  I feel like I’m staring at some jigsaw pieces and not seeing how they fit together, and yet I know that somehow they do.

On the one hand, we must “strive to enter that rest” (Heb 4:11) and on the other hand, “with confidence [we] draw near to the throne of grace.” (Heb 4:16)

On the one hand, the word of God discerns “the thoughts and intentions of the heart” (Heb 4:12) but on the other our own powers of discernment are “trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil.” (Heb 5:14)

On the on hand, the word of God is sharp and dangerous (Heb 4:12), but on the other hand, this isn’t a passage about us learning to wield it.

On the one hand it’s about rest, and on the other hand it’s about the duties of the high priest.

I sit there and stare at these pieces.  I mentally move them around trying to figure it out.  The more I do, the more I think that this is like the fog.  I just can’t see clearly.  I need the Son to burn the fog away for me.

Leave a Reply

